STIHL ms 180 c be review

Features of STIHL MS-180 chain saw

Hello dear readers of my blog. I’d like to give you an overview of the legendary chain saw STIHL 180 and highlight its technical characteristics. This is the most popular chainsaw, which has become a legend in both domestic and foreign markets. And so I’ll try to explain everything in order.

What exactly is this machine. This is a compact household chainsaw very convenient for home use, which is known for its quality and efficiency. We begin with the technical specifications of this chainsaw.

General specifications of STIHL 180

Engine has a power of 1.5 kw (that’s 2 l.с). The bar on this machine is available in 3 versions, this 30 cm.,35 cm. (the most common) and 40 cm. These tires are all found on modern machines, although 30 cm. I have not seen, but they do exist. If you ask the store for a chain on the 180, you will most likely be given a 35 bar, but if you have a different bar, check with the STIHL 180.

Where do they make it and where do they sell it to?

The good thing about this saw is that it is relatively light, about 4 kilos.), with good power. Since 2014 (maybe earlier), the 180th model is imported to Russia mainly from China. And this picture is not because they want to bring low-quality equipment to Russia, but because STIHL 180 is not environmentally safe in countries such as the U.S., Germany, where the STIHL factories. For economic reasons all production of the STIHL 180 was moved to China.

In the U.S. and Germany another model is popular. STIHL MS-181 is widely used in these countries, because its engine is much more environmentally friendly, saves more fuel. But with all the advantages it has a higher price, and the maintenance of such a unit is more expensive (due to technical difficulties in manufacturing spare parts).

In countries like Russia, India, etc.п. STIHL is still supplying the 180 (because of the low environmental standards for engines in those countries, I think you know that as well).

Don’t think that the saws made in China are of inferior quality. In China there is a modern factory with the latest equipment and the firm has a very strict quality standard for its products. Imagine the level of unemployment in China and for one place (at the same factory STIHL) claim for example 20 Chinese, who are waiting until the employee makes a mistake to take his place. And this is not a metaphor, but practically real facts except numbers of course.

The STIHL 180 varieties

Let’s look at the STIHL 180. This chainsaw comes in a comfortable design and is labeled MS-180C-BE, let’s understand what this acronym means. The letter “C” designates comfort (that is a comfortable execution), “B”. designates that on a chainsaw there is a device for rapid tensioning of the chain (this is the system of tensioning, without the help of the tool, everything is made only by hands and less than in a minute), “E”. device of easy start of a chainsaw (Ergo-start).

I told you about such systems in my article about choosing a chainsaw, if you are interested you can read. This saw costs more than the regular STIHL MS-180, but with different promotions the price is not significantly different. All other features are absolutely identical in these saws.

Technical changes of MS-180

Ms-180 was repeatedly “restyled”, so to speak, and got some changes. During a price reduction promotion, if I’m not mistaken in 2015, a side chain tensioner was added to the promotional units. not like in usual version, where chain is tensioned at the end, but on the side between nuts that fix chain cover. This is a very nice addition that allows you to quickly tighten the saw chain. Then the saw with this tensioner became a separate version.

The next change touched the top cover but, in my opinion, it went to the disadvantage. With the old STIHL ms-180 chain saw, the top cover can be opened by hand using a special flag without using a tool. After upgrade the lock remained in the same place, but there is no flag and the cover can be opened only with a screwdriver. This made it difficult to access the air filter and spark plug, personally for me it is inconvenient. After I asked the dealer why they took away the flag, I heard “there is no need to get into it more often”.

I noticed 2 other changes, the air intake and the shape of the air filter. The air intake was on the side and now is on the right side of the handle (I don’t know why, but they must know better). Also the shape of the air filter has changed a little bit, I am still not sure what for. So now the filters are different on the old and new.

Saw description

The model is a gasoline chainsaw with a transverse engine arrangement. The body of the tool is made of light duralumin alloy. Where the motor is located it has louvered cutouts. The STIHL STIHL 180 M2 STIHL guarantees the necessary cooling while working.

The retention is done with two handles. One of these is located on the rear and also controls the gasoline level in the carburetor. The second one is located a few centimeters from the beginning of the tire. There is a protective metal frame right in front of it.

The guide bar is available in two lengths: 35 or 40 cm. Carrying case is also included.

Total weight of the tool with empty fuel and oil tanks is 4.2 kg, and with the tire removed is 3.9 kg.

The starter handle is on the left side of the housing. Just below it there is a fuel tank lid.

The design includes an automatic chain brake when the work is complete. This prevents injury when using the tool.

Two-year manufacturer’s warranty on the saw.

Technologies used

Several technologies have been used in the construction of the saw to make it more comfortable to use and to increase its service life:

  • Compensator valve. The engine carburetor has a special valve that allows the engine to run stably even if the air valve is heavily contaminated.
  • Anti-vibration system. To reduce transmission of vibrations to the hands of the person working with the tool, the design includes special rubber spacers in some places.
  • One lever. Single-lever control. It functions as an ignition switch, a cold start or a hot start. This makes it much easier to work.

Modifications

In addition to the basic version of the MS-180 there are improved models:

Read more:  Stihl Starts Up And Immediately Stalls

Let’s look at each version in detail.

STIHL MS-180 C-BE 14 cordless chainsaw

This chainsaw “STIHL” is more advanced by the manufacturer, its weight is 4.2 kg. The two-stroke power unit runs on a fuel mixture of gasoline and motor oil and has a 2L. с. Air-cooled, ErgoStart system makes it easy to start the engine with a pull on the recoil starter. QuickStop system stops chain rotation instantly if front stop is depressed.

stihl, review

Constant fuel consumption and the cleanest possible exhaust is ensured by a built-in compensator. The bar is small. 14 inches, with the following parameters: 1.3 mm, 3/8″, 50 links. The Picco Duro is fitted with an in-house manufactured chain that blunts four times faster and is remarkably strong and durable.

Chain tensioning system has been optimised without the use of tools. The Ematic system ensures that the chain is lubricated where it is needed, resulting in a 50% saving in lubricants. Anti-vibration system protects the operator from unnecessary vibration.

Cylinder displacement 31.8 cm³
Tire length 35 cm
STIHL Oilomatic pitch/step chain 3/8″ P / Picco Micro 3
power 1.5/2 kWh/l.с.
weight 1) 4.2 kg
Specific weight 2,8 kg/kW
Sound pressure level 2) 98 dB(A)
Sound power level 2) 110 dB(A)
Vibration level left/right 3) 7,6/7,4 m/s²
Chain pitch 3/8 ” P
Tank capacity 0,25 л
RPMs at idle speed 2.800 rpm.
Speed Pmax 4) 9.000 rpm
K-factor according to directive 2006/42/EC 2

STIHL MS-180 16 Picco chainsaw

Chainsaw weight 3.9 kg. Single-cylinder, carburettor-based petrol engine 2 l. с. It also features an easy start system, chain lock, anti-vibration. STIHL Oilomatic PICCO MINI 61 PMN chain, automatic lubrication system works. Bus length. 40 cm. The carburetor has a built in compensator that is responsible for fuel consumption, constant chainsaw power, and exhaust gas quality.

Power l.с. 2
STIHL Oilomatic chainsaw Picco Micro 3 (PM3)
Weight kg 1) 3,9
Specific weight kg/kW 2,6
Sound pressure level dB(A) 2) 97
Sound power level dB(A) 2) 110
Vibration level left/right m/s? 3) 6,6/7,8
Chain pitch 3/8 ” P
Oil tank capacity cm 145

Operating instructions

97 General rules for using and maintaining the STIHL chain saw 180 ms in working condition:

  • The saw must be assembled using the tools provided and run in after assembly;
  • Run-in time of at least 5 hours;
  • Have all malfunctions repaired while your saw is under warranty;
  • Do not dismantle the chain saw yourself;
  • Wear protective equipment. goggles, face mask, gloves, ear muffs;
  • do not use your chain saw as an angle grinder. the tool is designed for woodworking only, not for cutting metal!
  • The chain saw has a maximum operating time of 120 minutes without shutting down;
  • Always choose quality oil and gasoline to fill up your chain saw;
  • If you have a warranty, you should not disassemble your STIHL 180 ms or adjust the carburettor, etc. at home;
  • STIHL mc 180 chain saw oil should be used according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. If the manual is not able to give you the exact oil type, use only genuine oils and greases;
  • What kind of gasoline to fill STIHL 180 chain saw. a question for beginners, experienced users know that the recommended type of gasoline is AI-92;
  • Do not adjust the carburetor yourself until after the 12-month warranty has expired;
  • Replace and service spark plugs as required, as they are worn and soot deposits appear;
  • Clean the filter once a month or less frequently, depending on how often you use your chain saw;
  • Watch the chain tension, for proper tensioning use the adjustment nozzle on the side of the chain saw;
  • Chain lubrication is a regular thing and should be done before starting your STIHL 180 chain saw.

Your browser does not support frames Download the STIHL 180 ms instruction manual

Accessories

Storage bag for chain saw

For safe storage and transportation of chain saws with bar length up to 45 cm (not suitable for electric saws MS 441, MS 461, MS 661 C-M and MS 880).

Models

Manufacturer’s recommended price c 06.04.2022. Manufacturer’s recommended retail price not included.

Case for chain saws

For storage and transport of all cordless and petrol saws up to 45 cm in bar length (not suitable for electric chainsaws and chainsaws MS 441 C-M, MS 461, MS 661 C-M and MS 880).

Design variants

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. Manufacturer’s recommended retail price not included.

Filling system, fuel

For fast filling of tools without overfilling. For STIHL fuel canisters, STIHL petrol canisters max. up to 5 l. Suitable for chainsaws with a bore size greater than 23,5 mm.

Models

Manufacturer’s recommended price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended retail price is not included in these promotional offers.

Laser sight 2 in 1

Two in one: direction indicator and cross-cutting saw attachment. For sawing short pieces of wood to size without time-consuming measuring, with fall direction indicator function for quality control of cuts and fall direction, demonstration clip on DVD. You can also choose the right carrier for your chainsaw.

Design variants

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended retail price is not included in any promotional price.

Service Kit

Service kit for STIHL chain saws with all the tools you need for servicing your STIHL chain saw. Regular service, such as changing air and fuel filters as well as spark plugs, extend the life of your machine. This keeps the machine in top condition and the chainsaw engine always runs properly and with optimum performance.

The service kit includes the following consumables for standard servicing of the machine:

STIHL spark plug STIHL air filter STIHL fuel filter

The new STIHL fuel filter offers improved air filtration in all conditions. Already on the surface, the filter retains coarse dirt particles, while fine dirt particles remain inside the filter. That keeps the STIHL chain saw engine free from abrasive dust and cuttings. Performance is maintained, fuel mixture consumption is low, and you can continue working efficiently.

stihl, review

To maintain the power of the machine, it is advisable to change the spark plug regularly. This is the basis for smooth running of the engine. A new spark plug makes starting the machine easy and the fuel mixture burns optimally.

Fuel filter prevents foreign particles from getting into the fuel mixture and further into the engine. It protects the engine and carburetor, ensuring the longevity of the machine.

To change the air filter and spark plug it is best to use the combination wrench included with your STIHL chain saw.

The box of the Service Kit itself has an integrated hook for easy and quick extraction of the fuel filter from the tank. That makes it easy to change it without additional tools.

For STIHL chain saws MS 170 and MS 180 from the current range Includes standard consumables for servicing the machine Convenient packaging for storing consumables

There is also an instructional video link on the back of the box.

Product Package Options

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. Recommended manufacturer’s price within promotional offers is not included.

The product range and information may vary according to the export version. Design and technological modifications of tools and accessories, as well as price changes are possible.

Accessories

Multifunction tool

Practical, high-quality, multi-tool in a robust polymer housing with 3.5 mm slotted screwdriver (for carburettor adjustment and regroove cleaning), Torx screwdriver TX27 and spark plug wrenches 19-13 (for combinations 1129 890 3401) and 19-16 (for combinations 0000 890 3400). With nylon pouch and belt loop.

Read more:  Stihl Fs 38 Won't Start

Execution options

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended price within the promotions is not taken into account.

Case for chain saws

For storage and transport of all cordless and chain saws with a bar length up to 45 cm (not suitable for electric saws MS 441 C-M, MS 461, MS 661 C-M and MS 880).

Design variants

Manufacturer’s recommended price from 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended price is not included in the promotions.

STIHL 2-in-1 saw holder 1130

For MS 017, MS 170, MS 170-D, MS 018, MS 180

Design variants

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended price is not included in the promotional offer.

Storage bag for chain saw

For safe storage and transportation of chain saws with bar lengths up to 45 cm (not suitable for electric saws MS 441, MS 461, MS 661 C-M and MS 880).

Design variants

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended retail price is not included in the offer.

Refilling system, fuel

For quick filling of instruments without overfilling. For STIHL combi canisters, STIHL gasoline canisters max. Up to 5 l. For use on tanks with bore size larger than 23,5 mm.

Versions

Recommended manufacturer’s price from 06.04.2022. Manufacturer’s recommended retail price not included.

Laser sight 2 in 1

Two in one: direction indicator and crosscutting attachment. For sawing short pieces of wood without time-consuming measuring, with fall direction indicator to check the quality of cut and fall direction, demonstration roller on DVD. You can also choose the matching handpiece for your chainsaw.

Models

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended price is not included in the promotional price.

Service kit

The STIHL chain saw service kit contains everything you need for servicing your STIHL chain saw. Regular service, like changing air and fuel filters and spark plugs, gives the machine a longer life. That way you keep your machine in top condition and you can keep your chainsaw engine running efficiently and with optimum performance at all times.

The service kit includes the following consumables for standard maintenance of the machine:

STIHL spark plug STIHL air filter STIHL fuel filter

New STIHL air filter ensures good air filtration in all conditions. Coarse dirt particles are already trapped on the surface of the filter, while fine dirt particles are trapped inside. The STIHL chain saw engine is therefore protected from the penetration of abrasive dust and cuttings. Performance is maintained, fuel mixture consumption is low, and you can continue working efficiently.

In order to maintain the performance of the machine, it is recommended to change the spark plug regularly. That is the basis for smooth running of the engine. The new spark plug makes starting the machine easy and the fuel mixture burns at optimum efficiency.

The fuel filter keeps foreign particles out of the fuel mixture and into the engine. It protects the engine and carburetor for long life.

To change the air cleaner and the spark plug it is best to use the combination wrench that comes with the STIHL chain saw.

The service kit package itself has a built-in hook for easy and quick extraction of the fuel filter from the tank. This allows easy replacement without additional tools.

For STIHL chain saw MS 170 and MS 180 in the current model range Includes all standard wear parts for servicing the machine Convenient storage boxes

You can also find the instructional video link on the back of the kits packaging.

Versions

Recommended manufacturer’s price c 06.04.2022. The manufacturer’s recommended retail price is not included in these promotional offers.

The product range and information may vary according to the export version. Structural and technological modifications of tools and accessories are possible, as well as price changes.

Practical tips for common fuel system troubleshooting

Chainsaws are equipped with 14″ and 16″ chainsaws with STIHL Oilomatic 3/8″ chainsaws. Oil for cooling and full lubrication of the cutting mechanism is fed from a 150 ml tank into the kerf by a non-adjustable oil pump.

The list of mandatory equipment includes a device for tensioning the saw chain and the chain locking system, which activates in the event of a kickback or other injury-prone moment. The chain is stopped in a very short time by a light tap on the back of the safety barrier.

By quality and durability today Stihl headsets are at the level of the best world and European samples.

Modifications

Considering the wishes of users, two more technically advanced versions have been developed on the basis of the basic model. The MS 180 C-BE chain saw is equipped with STIHL Easy-Start, a quick tensioning device for the chain and a carburettor on the fuel compensator.

Improved engine air mixer, anti-vibration system, single-lever control and much better operator comfort.

Another version of the STIHL MS 180 Picco incorporates the operational advantages of an automatic oiling system. This model is equipped only with 14-inch bars and 50-piece saw chain.

preparatory step

Repairing any piece of equipment should start with a preliminary step, and saw

STIHL 180, is no exception. The first step before any disassembly of the STIHL 180 chain saw is to remove the side cover, the chain and the guide bar. Then, if you have a compressor and a brush, you need to clean the chain saw of dirt, sawdust, oil and other spills.

Give particular attention to the chain saw’s drive sprocket when cleaning the chain saw, because the chain saw’s main sprocket is located in the front and rear sprockets. к. This is the dirtiest area.

Where there is a huge accumulation of oil, you can wash with unstained gasoline.

Removing the handle

Disassembling the STIHL 180 begins with removing the handle, which is attached to the chain saw by 3 rubber buffers. To remove it, you must remove the plastic plugs from the inside cavity of the shock absorber, then using a strong screwdriver, first squeeze the upper shock absorber, then the one closest to the rear handle.

STIHL STIHL 180 saw assembly video.

In the back of the handle is the throttle trigger, which is connected to the carburetor through a wire rod, if you set a goal to disconnect the rod from the throttle trigger, you need to unscrew the two screws and disassemble the handle.

When the handle remains on one shock absorber, it is necessary to unscrew the body of the chainsaw from the inner part of the handle and breaking aside, remove the body from the last rubber.

READ STIHL ms 180 idle speed adjustment

Design and diagram

The STIHL 180 chain saw (like the STIHL ms 660 chain saw) is quite complicated, and this is due to the peculiarities of this machine. To familiarize yourself with the STIHL ms 180 in detail, please refer to the instruction manual of the STIHL chain saw.

Here is a schematic drawing of the chainsaw, with all the details of its component parts and first and second starts. To keep it in good working order and to be sure of its functionality you need to know the fundamentals of its construction and how it works. Also for more efficient operation, the chainsaw carburetor needs to be tuned.

Read more:  Bosch s5 silver plus battery maintenance

The standard equipment of the product consists of:

  • Ematic guide bar;
  • Oilomatic saw chain;
  • Adjustable oil pump, which ensures an even distribution of oil to the entire chain and guarantees the perfect operation of the system;
  • STIHL carburettor with a special compensator to regulate the optimum engine power;
  • Air filter;
  • Starting lever (cold and hot);
  • Control lever;
  • Handle with special anti-vibration system.

Specifications of the STIHL 180 chain saw and its variants

The STIHL MS-180 is available in two versions: a 35″ and a 40″ guide bar. Chainsaw characteristics allow classifying it as entry level with improved performance. Technical features of the device:

  • Power. 1.5 kW, 2 liters. с.
  • Engine displacement. 31,8 cm³.
  • Oil tank. 145 cm³.
  • Weight. 3,9 kg.
  • Chain pitch is 9.3 mm.
  • Fuel capacity per hour. 0.7 l.
  • 250 ml fuel tank.
  • Manual start.

Outperforms models in its price class. To get the most out of the STIHL MS-180 it is essential to maintain it correctly: top up oil and use quality consumables in good time. A 4.5-5 mm file is recommended for sharpening the chain on the MS-180 16″ Picco.

Additional electrical options make work safer and more comfortable:

  • fast chain tensioning with a simple mechanism. adjusting wheel;
  • side chain is tensioned via the sprocket cover;
  • a special integrated mechanism prevents jerky jolts when starting the motor.

The manufacturer has designed the lever arrangement and handle well. Their shape eliminates muscle strain when working long hours.

– 5. Lucek

Pros: The quality of assemly. I know how to understand the faults of technology, but there is nothing to complain about.
Cons: It’s hard to get used to the fact that there are different saws)
Review: It’s not easy to alternate between working on the C-BE and more powerful models (I have STIHL at home and at work). But on the property has not yet been a single log or tree that C-BE would not take. Weight I think is optimal. Started it up right away, but I’ve read other reviews. than comfortable to operate, no need to be bulky.

– 5. Hector D

Pros: For beginners this is the perfect saw
Cons: I have to limit myself a little, I can not afford a more powerful saw yet.
Review: STIHL knows what they are doing, I completely trust them. The C-BE is not drastically different from its classmates (and I’ve worked with them). Chains and other consumables are all original, so no problems. Surprised but the anti-vibration system works great, I thought it was just an advertising gimmick.

– 5. Sanya Tarasenko

Pros: If in 2 years of operation not a single breakage, then obviously a solid plus
Cons: It seems to me that these model labels (C-BE for example) only confuse customers, although it does not affect the quality of the manufacturer
My feedback: I had a little doubt when buying, the consultant at the store could not really advise me anything, I am a beginner. I bought the STIHL blower mower on the farm, and I don’t think I have any doubts about it. I would not say anything special, it’s a normal machine, easy to maintain. The power is enough, fairly economical fuel consumption. A normal household unit

– 5. Victor Grevkov

Pros: Nice lightweight, easy to use saw. Bought it about 8 years ago. I don’t know how much I’ve sawn, but a lot. I have not had any malfunctions.
Cons: The only thing I don’t like is the starting. The saw is small, but the compression is big, so it is kind of awkward to start. I have two powerful saws in addition to the Stihl, but they are much easier to start.
Review: The STIHL chain saw with 3.5 horsepower is not that bad, but it uses half the fuel. True chain stood super.

– 5. Vlad

Pros: A handy thing to work with
Cons: I was afraid to buy the model with the C-BE prefix, but the usual ones were disassembled
Review: I’m wary of modifications of good models, but in this case everything turned out great. The STIHL MS-180C-BE was just as good as a normal chainsaw. Also easy to start, cuts boards and stumps efficiently. My first season came to a happy end.

– 3. Alexander

Pros: Didn’t have time to detect.
Cons: Faulty product. Denial of warranty service.
Review: I categorically do not recommend considering the STIHL MS180 C chainsaw for purchase. My experience with the purchase, minute use and denial of warranty service on this chainsaw. I know exactly what kind of Комментарии и мнения владельцев will follow under my post. But common sense, experience with two-stroke engines and strict adherence to the chainsaw manual helped me. So, how it was. I didn’t have to assemble this wonder of technology. reassembled it a friend who gave it to me as a gift. I use original chain oil, also a mix of STIHL oil and gasoline. Switched the engine on the choke (for the first start, in the cold). I’ll tell you straight, it didn’t start right away. I had to rub the cord about 15 times. But a miracle happened. It started ! After about 10 seconds, I turned off the choke. I decided to wait a half a minute for the engine to warm up and put the saw next to me on the concrete pedestal. I sit down, I don’t touch the saw and what do I see? After about 15 seconds there was a little smoke. Got a little nervous at ! I got my hands on it right away and shut it off. Inspected. Didn’t find anything visually unusual. Started it up again. This time it started on the spot. I took the brake off and tried the throttle. Chain was spinning, but the smoke was back. I again tensed up. Turned off. Checked. The chain is absolutely dry, although the tank is filled to the brim. Just in case I called a friend who is experienced in this kind of equipment (in fact, it was his gift). Got reassurance that the new chain saw sometimes has a slight delay in oil flow. According to the advice, drop chain oil on the main gear. Decided to try to saw something. Started it up again, took it off the brake and sawed through a 50100 bar. While trying to make another saw, the chainsaw went sour. Slowly stalled and stalled. The brake jammed in the process. When I tried to tell the details of my one-minute “use” of the chainsaw to the staff at the authorized dealer, I was accused of “sawing on the brake”. Conclusion of this representative and higher distributor. no warranty. I find this one-sided approach to customer support extremely insulting. Absolutely at

– 4. Anatoly Rakhmilevich

Pros: Picked a lighter saw. Started. stable, everything according to the manual.
Cons: I was warned and convinced when I bought it. Weak compared to my 18″ old McCuloch. There is no such thing as a miracle!
Withdrawal: